Day 12 – Top 5 International Students tend to forget to bring

Hello Readers!

Today I will be writing about what international students tend to forget to bring when they first came to UK. I would like to thank Cheng Jun who suggested this topic to me on Facebook (University of Manchester Orientation for International and EU students). ☺

To be honest with you, you don’t have to freak out if you really forgot to bring anything here, UK has EVERYTHING! Yes, everything you can think of.

After a few thoughts, I will list out my top 5 items I think will be important not to forget to bring from your home country:

  1. Your favourite hobby item: Yes, UK has everything. However, not always the things that you are used to. For my case, I bought my knitting tools all the way from my home country when I went back last summer. Knitting tools are slightly more expensive in UK (not the yarn ball, as you can get it from Poundland for only £1) and the sizes might be limited. Although you might think there won’t be any free time whilst studying 24/7, as a human being, I believe you still need to give some time for yourself to do the hobby you like. After all, all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy~
  2. Authentic home country FOOD: Food food food. As I am from Asia country, I miss the food from my home country A LOT when I am in UK. Maybe we are more used to cook and eat what we have in our home country, me and my friend did not get used to having British food when we first came to UK. Although you can still buy the sauce and paste from Asia supermarket, they will be 5 times or more the price you can get back in your home country, after all, they are imported all the way from Asia to UK. For these 3 years studying in UK, I still bring a whole luggage of food from my home country every year when I fly back to UK. No shame, I am proud to be born in a food paradise! (I guess you will know where I came from right now 😉 )
  3. A Comfy pair of house wear slippers: In UK, accommodations are covered in carpet. I would like to recommend you to bring a pair of slippers as you might not get used to the fluffy feeling walking on carpet. Of course you can buy a pair of fluffy slippers from any departmental store in UK, however, if your flight arrives midnight, you will need to walk barefooted around the accommodation for a night before you get your slippers, which is a bad idea. (You might want to bring some comfortable undies as well to change on for the night before heading to departmental store to buy new ones the next day)
  4.  Extra Pounds (£££): Always bring extra cash as you never know you might need it in an emergency. Opening a bank account and getting a bank card might take you long enough before you can swipe your card around to buy essentials. Bringing extra cash is always a good idea as you might need it to buy water in the airport, or topping up your mobile card to contact your parents who are anxiously waiting for you to tell them you safely arrived in UK. However, please do not bring an amount exceeding the maximum cash allowance in UK airport. This is very important.
  5. Your driving license: Car rental is often available in UK and Europe countries and is a great option to go for if you travelling with your friends. Having your driving license will provide you with an opportunity to drive your friends around and showcase your driving skill. However, your driving license needs to be in English or else they won’t be able to approve it.

That is all for this post, but feel free to let me know if I missed anything!

See you in the next post 🙂

Jing

Leave a Reply

