Day 15 – Second-hand options

Yesterday night, I received an email from my fellow reader – Samantha, who suggested me to write about this post. I would like to express my appreciation for Samantha who reminds me of telling new students about the cheaper and more environmental-friendly option for buying essentials in Manchester.

As far as I know, I am more familiar with these two routes to get hold of the second-hand items: Facebook group and charity second-hand shops.

For the first route – Facebook group, seniors who are graduating and heading back to home countries are happy to let go off their items at a price much much lower than the price you can get in shops, and often, the items are in almost brand new condition!

I will attach two Facebook Groups link that are selling second-hand items within students from University of Manchester :

  1. Manchester Malaysians’ Marketplace
  2. UoM跳蚤市場

You can also search on Facebook to see if there are other groups or pages where they sell second-hand product within University of Manchester. I believe there will be more out there somewhere 🙂

For the second route – Charity Second-hand Shops. Here, I will talk about the two shops along Oxford Road that I am more familiar with: Oxfam and Goodstock.

aQQfwwvK

Oxfam is an international confederation of charitable organizations focused on the alleviation of global poverty. If you are staying in Whitworth Hall Accomodation, it will be difficult not to spot the charity shop just outside of the accomodation. Oxfam in Oxford road is run solely by our University of Manchester Oxfam Society, if you are interested in knowing more about the team, feel free to have a look at their Facebook page (University of Manchester Oxfam Society).

88LL_H

As shown in the picture above, Goodstock is a shop run by vInspired. vInspired is the UK’s leading volunteering charity for 14 – 25 year olds. vInspired helps young people to make their mark on causes that they care about, whilst learning new skills and talents along the way. Goodstock by vInspired smashes the myth that charity shops are about old-fashioned, worn out clothes. Located in the heart of Manchester’s student district, Goodstock is a charity shop for young people, run by young people. – quote from Goodstock

These are the two charity shops near campus, there are more charity shops in the city centre where you can also get good items while doing charity.

Please let me know what you would like me to write about in my next post by commenting in the comment box below.

See you next time,

Jing

Leave a Reply

